Drama Catch-Up

First Catch-Up of 2024!

I Became the Main Role of a BL Drama (2023) – This was only 3 episodes, so a nice and quick show. The first episode was absolutely laugh out loud hilarious, and then the second and third eps are more general drama, not as much LOL, but still funny and cute. A fun, easy watch.

Twinkling Watermelon (2023) – Such a funny, sweet, heartbreaking drama. You’ll be laughing out loud one minute, and then crying over a beautiful moment the next. And it ends happily. I knew that the Dad character would never have his hearing issue fixed, because that would be like the Show was saying there was something wrong with being deaf, and they wouldn’t want to do that. But at least Eun Gyul fixed enough things with their families and friends so that Mum and Dad weren’t alone anymore, and Eun Gyul didn’t have to grow up as their interpreter and the pressures that went with that. It was a really lovely show.

I Cannot Reach You (2023) – A cute J-BL.

Ready Set Love – This was a funny Netflix show with a serious plot, lol. I liked all of the characters and I hope there’s a second season. Man was delightful. He really does “soft spoken sensitive gentleman” really well.

DMD Friendship: The Reality – This was 6 episodes of awkwardness. I liked Latte, he seemed the most natural and the best at not seeming awkward. Some of them are really good singers though, so I look forward to seeing what they come out with in future.

For Him – Dropped after episode 6 because it’s just not good. It’s by the same team as Unforgotten Night, which was terrible but hilarious. For Him was just bad in a boring way.

Cherry Magic Thai – This is nice. I never read the manga, only watched the J-drama, so i like seeing the things they didn’t include in that. The Japanese company really made it hard to watch, banning GMMTV from showing it anywhere except on TV and Viu Thailand, but GMMTV got around that by adding subtitles so that people could vpn in and watch it that way. Until episode 10, when Viu made it a premium show that you had to pay to watch if you wanted to watch it the day it aired on TV, or wait til the next day to watch it for free, lol. The whole debacle made me laugh but fans got behind them and tweeted the hell out of the hashtag anyway, even though interfans couldn’t watch it.

My Demon – When I first started this, I wasn’t totally convinced. And then the romance started and it was cute and I liked it enough to keep watching. And I finished it in much the same way. It was good enough to finish, but won’t go in my top 10. I did like it though . And visually, I do think Song Kang and Kim Yoo Jung match each other.

Happy Ending – This was a short film that they split into 3 parts of about 7 minutes each. So I don’t really have much to say about it. It’s okay.

Last Twilight – This was good. I didn’t LOVE the ending though. I was happy that it was a happy ending, and I even understood WHY they broke up (and actually didn’t disagree), but I didn’t think the resolution to them breaking up was done properly. Mork ended up apologising for something he didn’t even need to apologise for, and Day didn’t apologise at all when he actually DID need to apologise. So that was my gripe with the ending. Also, it was hilarious that Namtan and Mark’s relationship happened entirely offscreen until the wedding, lol

Sahara-sensei to Toki-kun – This was a mid drama. Not fantastic, not bad, just decently watchable. It was very funny at times, and had some cute moments.

Although I Love You, and You? – I like this so far. It might go weird from now though so we’ll see. The ending to episode 7 was unexpected serious.

The Sign – The mythological aspect is cool, and I like BillyBabe together as a ship. Idol Factory is a solid production company, they seem to put a lot of effort in.

Twins – I actually stopped watching after episode 10 because I couldn’t handle the fact that First STILL DIDN’T KNOW that Zee was Sprite. Sprite should have told First ages ago anyway but the minute Sprite and Zee started switching places again, they should’ve told him. What in the world did Sprite think would happen when Zee started being a shithead to First again? My God. Anyway, I waited til episode 12 was out and then i watched 11 and 12 together, at 1.5x speed. I think the first half of the series was good and then it started to go downhill. I did actually enjoy the show for the most part, but it’s not objectively good and I wouldn’t recommend it to people.

Mr Bad (2022) – This was cute, although I think I was over it by the end. Should’ve been shorter.

Love Song for Illusion – I am unsure what I think of this. I keep watching it and I don’t know why. But like… it can be very funny, and the way Yeon Wol noticed the jealousy between the two men was hilarious, and I liked the rivalry between the two men and the way they eventually did bond over Yeon Wol. Also, I liked the Grand Prince’s hair.

Nai Roy Srai (Twist of Fate) – The episodes are 40 minutes instead of the usual hour & a half, and i feel like they did actually film the hour & a half but then cut it down. The editing is choppy, and Tawan starting talking and walking quite fast after his surgery. I am enjoying it for the most part, but it’s weird. HOW does Tiwa think it’s okay to make Wi think Tawan is him? Does he think she’ll forgive him at the end? Also, the promo pics make me laugh. Just Mike and his women, lol

City of Stars – This will go in the list of the shows that no one ever remembers. Not the list of bad shows, because it’s watchable and fairly cute (and very silly). I actually like it. But ask me about this in a year and I won’t even know what you’re talking about.

Dead Friend Forever (DFF) – This is a horror/thriller, so naturally I didn’t plan on watching it. And then episode 6 aired and I saw a clip of TaBarcode being cute. So I skim watched the whole of episode 6, and then skim watched episodes 1-5 (skipping the horror scenes and the bullying, and just watching enough of the talking to get the gist of what was going on), and then the following week, I skim watched episode 7, and then after that, watched most of episode 8. So I guess now I’m watching this, lol. I think it’s well made and the mystery is good. The bad guys are bad, and Barcode did a great job with what would have been a very emotionally taxing role.

Love for Love’s Sake – Really great first four episodes, really rushed last four episodes.

Captivating the King – So, I don’t think I actually like this, but I’m watching it. I don’t like how the King acts, I don’t think Shin Se Kyung was the right casting decision, and it’s kind of boring. And yet… I’m watching it, so it does have good things about it. The Queen and her father were very sweet, and so is the Crown Prince.

Perfect Propose – Another mid drama. Just kind of plods along and then ends.

Anti Reset – This is going to be so sad, I just know it. But it’s very cute at the moment (we’re at ep 5 now). Ever9 is basically a dog waiting at home and wanting to please his owner, which i guess is weird but he’s a robot so it’s already weird, lol. They’re super cute together and when he gets reset, it’s going to be HEARTBREAKING.

1000 Years Old – I watched the first episode. Meh.

Leave a comment