Drama Catch-Up

Heartstopper – This was a British Netflix drama about a gay high schooler and his romance with the popular rugby player who is discovering his sexuality. It is a beautiful series. Nick, the rugby player, is a beautiful, confused child who is a genuinely good person and won’t put up with his friends’ shit anymore. And Charlie is an anxious bullied nerd with self esteem issues, but a big crush on Nick that is luckily not unrequited. The pair together are just the sweetest high school couple you’ll ever see. And every time they meet, their soft “Hi’s” and their big open smiles are just precious. I squee’d a lot. I spent the entire series just “awwwwww”-ing and squealing and just generally loving the show.

My Ride The Series – Nice drama based on a book which is also nice. A sweet main couple, and a random second couple that were cute enough.

Cutie Pie The Series – Very cute and sweet. It had some angst and some frustrating moments, and i would say lost its way a little bit near the end, when they decided all the audience wanted to see was ZeeNunew having sex, but overall I’d say it was a really lovely show. I wish we’d seen more of Syn Nuer (they easily could’ve switched some of the sex scenes for SynNuer scenes), and I really hope we get a second season based on MaxNat’s book Naughty Babe. The cameo at the very end of the cast of Middleman’s Love and Bed Friends was great.

Zettai BL s2 – This was fun. As quirky as the first season. I’m not sure I loved the addition of the manga author though.

Crazy Love – I finished this and it was fine. It was funny but the main guy had a personality transplant halfway through and it seemed rushed.

Business Proposal – This was a fun, cute show. I really enjoyed it every week, even though the ending was weird. But both couples were lovely.

Secret Crush On You – Such a crazy, fun series! I didn’t really know what to expect going into it but the utter hilariousness and silliness really surprised me. I loved it a lot. It did lose its way after maybe ep 10, when it felt like it had storylines that it had to use so shoehorned them in, and conversely felt like they had no storyline and so it felt like filler. It was strange. But the greatness of the first half was enough to cover for the drop in quality of the last half. It also had this pretty man in it, albeit very underutilised.

The Tuxedo – What a waste of the actor’s chemistry.

Duang Jai Nai Montra – This was an overall nice series. I liked all of the couples, and the Prince was cute.

Mafia The Series: Gun & Freaks – I’ve watched 7 eps so far (of 10) and it’s an odd series. Hilarious at times, and then other times i’m just thinking “What?”

Cupid’s Last Wish – I would say this is an okay drama. Mix’s character was incredibly frustrating the way he treated Earth’s character like shit, but at least by episode 8, he had finally decided he was being unreasonable and we got some scenes with them actually being friends again. A lot of his feelings came from his belief that he’s involved in a one sided love, but how he couldn’t see that Earth was in love with him is beyond me. What was even more confusing was when they literally wrote “I love you” in the sand to each other, but were still asking “Do you love me?” afterwards.

Blueming – This was nice enough. Same deal as all the Korean BL’s, which is that it felt like scenes were missing sometimes. And i was so confused at one point over what was happening. But overall, it was decent.

Meow Ears Up – One of those dramas that isn’t really “good”, per se, but it is a nice watch. The characters are all nice, their scenes together are cute. It’s just a sweet show. I like it. I recommend it for a light, fluffy watch.

The Oath of Love – This is my commute/work show so i’m getting through it slowly, 19 eps in so far. It’s a lovely show, just two people falling in love. Really nice. I do ffwd past her parents now though, as they don’t really add to the story and their scenes can go for a while.

Kinn Porsche The Series – 10 episodes in now and it’s a mix of hilarious comedy and violent abuse. I do like the characters, and I enjoy nutjob Tong immensely. KimPorschay are adorable. I love the security guards (Arm is probably my favourite character) and i look forward to the VegasPeter storyline, which is finally starting now. Vegas is a psycho but he is HOT, especially when he speaks English.

Ocean Likes Me – Show is average. Han Gi Chan is attractive. Dropped after episode 4.

Plus & Minus – This is by the same producers as Beloved in House, and it has the same feel. So i’m not LOVING it but it’s okay.

Shooting Stars – I enjoyed this, although the last third was a bit makjang. But Gong Tae Sung was a hilarious idiot, and Kang Yoosung was the absolute nicest guy you will ever see, and the way the PR assistants would all get together to chat about Hanbyul and Taesung was cute. They definitely only had material for about 10 episodes though, because they just brought in random stuff at the end.

Close Friends 2 – Short episodes, not much to say. It’s good for what it is. Overall, I liked it.

That’s My Candy – Watched 2 eps and didn’t continue. I didn’t plan on dropping it but I just didn’t end up watching any more. It’s very weird. I read on Twitter that there are a lot of pop culture references that international fans won’t get, so i think that might be part of it. It’s meant to be a parody but if you don’t get what it’s parodying, it just seems strange. KimCop are cute though.

Leave a comment